Gradient Background Waves

Soroptimist International of the American River

Improving the lives of women and girls, through programs leading to social and economic empowerment...


Soroptimist Logo Blue S Only

More Awards & Programs...

While we recognize deserving women and girls in our community, we also acknowledge the accomplishments of our members.  

The Annabell McCord Award

"If not you, who?" These words were the call to action of life-long community advocate Annabell McCord.  A two-time Mayor, city council member, planning commissioner, teacher, parliamentarian, business owner, parent, foster parent, and Soroptimist for decades, Annabell embodied community involvement and community service.  Annabell was a force to be reckoned with.  She gave generously of her time and talents throughout her 93 years, more than 50 spent here in Auburn, inspiring many other women to do more than they ever thought they could.


This award, named in honor of this indomitable spirit of Auburn, is given to one of our own, recognizing her contributions--for Soroptimist, for community and for business.

Annabell McCord 2

Past Recipients Merrill Kagan-Weston (2013), Ann Bryant (2015), Norma Rash, Pat Ferguson(2017), Lisa Bloom (2014), Kathy Dunbar (2016),


The Laurel Society

The Laurel Society was established in 1994 as a permanent recognition program to honor individuals dedicated to the Soroptimist organization and its mission. Soroptimist had just completed the Five in Five campaign, which exceeded the goal of reaching $5 million in five years to establish a reserve fund to secure the long-term financial health of the organization. Many members wished to continue their financial support for Soroptimist after the close of the campaign. The Laurel Society was created to  show appreciation to donors for gifts that would ensure continued funding for Soroptimist programs.

Laurel Society Pin

Our Laurel Society Members ...

Norma Rash 01 Laurine Johnson BACK

Cheryl Foley  

 Merrill Kagan-Weston

 Lisa Bloom

Norma Rash  

Laurine Johnston

Lisa Bloom Headshot 2017 Merrill Kagan Weston Headshot 2017 Cheryl Foley Headshot 2017

2018 Recipient

Norma Rash


2018 Annabell McCord Award Norma Rash